Best Tips for Sticking to your Diet – Don’t be Afraid to change things up


No one likes the idea of a diet and because of this, many people falter on their way to getting their dream bodies. Even when armed with all the right information, it’s still very easy to get discouraged about the whole thing and quit.

So here are a couple of things I’ve found that will help you stick with it.

You may not need all of them but some might scream out to you as a good idea and if that’s all it takes to keep you on path, that’s good enough.

.

Don’t be Afraid to Change things up.

I went through an eating phase when I lost weight while I was eating Doner meat once a day every day. Even though there isn’t a diet book or regime in the world that would recommend that meal, the reason I lost weight was because it was my only meal of the day. Thus, I was in a caloric deficit compared to my previous eating habits and activity levels.

Then My weight plateau’d

Then I left the Doner meat behind and started eating more food and more regularly. I went to skinless chicken, salad and brussel sprouts.  I was also eating a tuna/chicken salad lunch and having two protein shakes a day. And my weight started to drop.

It wasn’t because I was eating healthier that I lost more weight, and logic would suggest that eating more meals a day would mean I should’ve actually gained weight, which also didn’t happen.

It was because I was in a caloric deficit compared to my previous eating habits and activity level. Had I ordered a smaller portion of Doner meat at a calorie intake similar to my healthy meal total, my weight loss could have continued.

So it’s not the types of foods that make you lose weight but the calorie deficit you achieve. Eventually though, a range of foods may only take you so far, so you might have to look for a different set up.

Make note, I did not get upset that my single meal of the day was not making me lose weight, instead I switched it up. In this case, it was to eating more regular meals with less calorie dense foods (hence a greater total mass of food to help with the satiety) in order to get to where I needed to be.

It was instinctive but if you want to get and keep the weight off by doing it slowly, you WILL have to continually monitor/manage your calorie daily intake requirements.

Don’t be afraid when the weight stops coming off and don’t be scared to change things up.

Remember…

.

It doesn’t mean it’s stopped working,

It just means you need to start working

To get the ball moving again.

.

switch things up

