cassetteplayer tech overspill


Parent Affirmation

Now it isn’t always fair to judge kids but I say it’s pretty fair game to judge the parents of children based on some of their reactions to stuff like this.

mark my words, If I am ever unfortunate enough to have kids, they are going to start from the same disposition that I had.

no luxury items taken for granted
definitely no shitty cartoons either (they will be bread on the finest of the 60s,70,80s 90s and 00s animation, both western and anime).

No modern electro pop nonsense. soul music, old fashioned rock dance, all musical forms in their origins before they got hijacked by the sampling and big beat culture later on.

They will also listen to their music on vinyl

yeah sure there will be chastised by their friends and osterasized for being quirky but dammit kids just need some real life grounding.

they will play outsides and jump in puddles and scratch teir skin climbing things and hitting each other with sticks, even the girls.

A game to them is what they use their imagination to play or it will come in a box, with missing pieces and definitely no headset.

___

You cant drag me back to the Future Doc

hey, you know what, this may be crazy but my 65 year old mother just texted me and asked me if I had what’s app, I don’t even know what the hell what’s app is.

So maybe there is a part of me that doesn’t want to move with the times, not necessarily for anything but I find once you have adopted a certain technology into your life, it’s almost impossible to live without it.

I grew up in an age without mobile phones and the house phone was all the range. Now if you asked the average person my age to go a week without a mobile, they would literally die and get depressed

.

first-world-problems-meme-generator-can-t-find-my-phone-can-t-call-it-because-i-left-it-on-silent-4aca4d.

I think our growing dependency and lost of independence by allowing multi billion pound organisations to subtlely take it away from us and return us to a child/parental relationship where their devices cater for all our needs is a real dangerous one.

Oops, you’re moving too fast

I just find it so hard to see the ridiculous progression oi technology and how the youth of today not only adapt to it like second nature but thrive and attack it,

They ask questions we’ve never thought of ourselves, forcing technology to take yet another leap into brave new future ahead of us, in ways we could have never foresaw.

And it’s happening quicker and quicker, we no longer have technology that will stay with us for 30 years , like the tape player, current technology turnover is insane, components designed today will be obsolete for most market consumers in five year’s time and construction stopped in 8. I remember when the original ipod launched and how revolutionary it was, by today’s standards it’s a relic and dated concept, people would laugh at you if they saw you with one. It came out in 2001, three years after the matrix, a film still widely received today for its technological concepts, how bizarre how one thing dates while another doesn’t. (although seeing Neo with those Nokias is kinda funny)

.

matrix phone.

What’s worse, kids born in 2050 will have no idea how the children of the millennium coped with everyday life, without their over growing list of disposable gadgets at hand. Even though I have a concept of how my grandparents lived in the 30s, my grand kids are going to be completely alienated to the way things were for me growing up.

Even with this, everyone says, don’t forget where you came from and while my generation are very aware of the tech that came before/after it, it appears that the new forward facing consumer market makes it very difficult for the youth of today to  to take stock of what came before. They are forever being bombarded with what’s around the corner.

I know disposable income and access has grown over the years but is tech history really that irrelevant?

The funny thing is the average old tech device would work no probs now while the average dated media player wouldn’t. Typical

Old Man Pleut is like down the the kidzzz

Now I grew up with quite a few of these cassette player gizmos over my time, with the last one I owned being ….oh wow…16 years ago…seems pretty long when you actually quantify it, feels like just yesterday to me….:-/

I really have to snap out of this mentality I’m a spring chicken and cassettes aren’t that old, I think you could still buy a film cassette/dvd player back in 2005. That was actually before most of these kids were born funnily enough, which kinda puts this video back into perspective.

I suppose the reason it doesn’t feel long to me is because at heart, I’m not what you’d consider a consumer,

I don’t buy and replace kit year after year after year. The average consumer would have owned at least TEN musical devices over the last 16 years with each one lasting about 18 months each. With that kinda turnover of technology, you could understand why these kids are a little lost. People only generally tend to keep a couple of their old devices around at best. So if you never see this shit around the house, how are you supposed to know what it does?

.

2792-small_Seeing_is_Learning.

To be fair,  I’ve only ever had five phones and the most modern one, which isn’t even the one I have now, had a 2M camera, which was all the range in 2005 (WOW, seriously, where is the time going)

I suppose the reason is I treat my tech like pet projects, they enrich and become part of my life. I get more satisfaction with fixing something than I do dumping and replacing it at the first opportunity, with seeing how long they’d last before croaking being the main focal point.

That cracked screen and missing button on my netbook is just another idiosyncrasy that gives it character. It’s very much the relationship people used to have with their first cars, back in the days when they took pride and ownership of them and used to do most of the fixes themselves. They were never perfect, broke down a lot and more often than not, the owner was the only person in the universe who could drive the fuckers but they were theirs and that’s all that mattered.

.

my first car.

And when they finally go splat, I’d mourn them and look for replacements that were as similar as possible to try and fill the void.  Alas the newer tech never managed to in the beginning, but it eventually gained its own legitimate place in my heart.

.

pagliarini4.

‘Sad’, I hear you mumbling …maybe but that was the environment I grew up in. My siblings were always taking things apart and fixing them, it was just a way of life to figure out how something worked and sort it out yourself. Fuck sending something back under a warranty. Replacement wasn’t always an option so you just had to make do with what you had, it was a real ‘patch-patch’ mentality we had back then. To some extent, we still all do #trampchic

